The Certified Information Security Manager certification validates your knowledge and experiences in the development and management of an enterprise information security program.

CISM is primarily designed for individuals who wish to work as Information Security Analysts, IT managers, consultants, or support information security management. A CISM-certified professional can also develop policies and practices, manage information security, understand the relationship between business objectives, and information security.
If you want to learn CISM, then you need to be able to focus on the domains. These are the domains.
Domains of CISM
Information Security Governance
Information Risk Management
Information Security Program Development and Management
Information Security Incident Management
This blog will be about Information Security Governance CISM Domain 1.
What is Information Security Governance?
Information Security Governance is defined by the National Institute of Standards and Technology as the process of creating and managing a framework to ensure that information security strategies align with business objectives and comply according to applicable laws and regulations. This can be done through standard policies and internal controls.
Information Security Governance, in its simplest form, refers to good risk management, reliable reporting controls and comprehensive training and testing. It also requires strict corporate accountability. It provides direction for cybersecurity activities and ensures that the company’s security objectives can be met.
Information Security Governance
CISOs and other chief executives officers oversee the governance of an organization. Board members, CXOs, and security professionals can help identify information assets and information security threats, develop a strategy to secure information systems and the data they contain, as well as create information security policies that cover everything, from access controls to organizational security awareness.
A governance framework is essential for ensuring that policies, procedures, practices, and other activities of an organization adhere to regulations and standards. These are the most popular Information Security Governance Frameworks:
National Institute for Security and Technology (NIST), publication 800-53
The Payment Card Industry Data Security Standard, (PCI DSS),
Control Objectives for Information and Related Technology (COBIT).
International Organization for Standardization (ISO 27001
The Health Information Portability and Accountability Act, (HIPAA), is a law that allows for the sharing of health information.

Information Security Governance is becoming more important than ever. Recent Nominet data shows that 66 percent of firms experienced at least one security breach within the past year. Thirty percent suffered multiple breaches. Nominet’s 2020 CISO Stress report revealed that CISOs ranked protecting their organization and network as the most stressful part of their job. The paper states that cybercrime is growing at an alarming pace and this stress is only being exacerbated by the increasing frequency of cyber incidents.
Here are some tips to help you stay on top of Information Security Governance requirements:
Choose a better framework: Choosing a framework such as ISO or COBIT is the first step to becoming an expert in your organization’s information security programs (or lack thereof). A framework for information security can be used to guide the implementation of processes and procedures within an organization, and prevent haphazard approaches.
Take a look at the IT infrastructure.
It is important to take a look at your IT infrastructure. You should pay particular attention to how servers and firewalls are configured. Reexamine your server configuration